Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
87 emissions control removal.
I am trying to sort out the rats nest that's on top of the engine in my 87. First off, it is a 351w and it has a carb instead of fuel injection. There seem to be vacuum hoses running every where. How much of this stuff can I remove without hurting the way it runs? A lot of the lines are cracked and broken, some are capped off and others seem to be running back to their self. I sure would like to meet the genius that came up with all this mess so I could ask him about it.

I live in the Fuquay Varina area if there is anyone close that could stop by and give me a hand.

Later, Gavin.
Alot of the hoses may not be needed.Since it is an87, all you should need is a saftey inspection, even though they say you should never remove smog equip.:thefinger:
Stupid hurts when it catches up, and it WILL catch up!

[SIZE="4"]Founding member of the "cheap bastards 4x4 gang''[/SIZE]
[Image: Outalne_017.gif]
Hey Gavin... I'm no expert, but I've got no problem coming out your way (I live right off 40/42)... We can bang our heads and try to figure it out... Or bring it out to my buddies shop and I know we'll knock it out... Vaughn (vern69 here) has a very Bronco friendly shop... Ronnie (sparkchaser) will back me up on that. Hell, I'll tow it here, if need be.
Cool deal. Where's the shop at? What I am really doing is getting ready to pull the motor. It needs a rear main seal and an oil pump. I am just trying to get rid of some of the useless stuff in the process. I have got a lot of the hoses and such out, but there are a couple of other items I am not sure about. I will PM you my phone number JT and Sparkchaser, give me a call when you get the chance. I am off the rest of the week and hope to have some of it done before I go back to work.

Later, Gavin.