Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ron Davis Rad Install
This is a request from the desk of the [SIZE="5"]"GRAND POOHBAH"[/SIZE]

I had to modify the hangers by :cut:cutting out the sides and rubber in order to insure a tight fit. The top hangers had alot of work and the bottom only toke a little off the sides.

[Image: th_rad005.jpg]

The shroud had precut holes for mounting, but I had to drill:down: the rad in 4 places. I really took my time here in order not to have the fan hit my shroud.
[Image: th_rad001.jpg]
[Image: th_rad008.jpg]

I also bought a special "rad cap" to stop Electrolytic Metal Erosion(EME). The cap has a sacrafical Anode in order to help prevent "EME"

[Image: th_RADCAP001.jpg]
[Image: th_rad004.jpg]

Then I installed a 10" elec. fan to help more in cooling my new motor.

[Image: th_rad002.jpg]

I wish I had some action photos but I am a rookie at this and I know my little "tech" article is not the best but I hope yall enjoy.:biggthumpup:
Waiting to build or BUY another legend! :thefinger:
Always an EB fan, lover and freak :notworthy:

1985 Yoda 4Runner :xyxthumbs:
dang that looks sweet John!!! Real nice,Chuck
77 built 306,Trickflow Cam/Alum Heads/dome pistons/10:1comp,nv3550,duff long arms,3.5" lift,family cage,protofab rear bumper,twin sticked, and 35KM2'sG.D.I.
So you have an engine mounted fan with shroud and electric mounted
on the front side. Looks great. Where did you get that shroud? I need one too. Would rather not make one if I can avoid it. I have the Explorer serp so it may require a different one but I am not sure.

Two things to consider:
1.) If you are using a temperature probe in the radiator for the electric fan I would make sure you are not running it through the fins (which is where most of them are supposed to go). Unless the probe it is the same aluminum as your radiator, or softer (which I have never seen), you risk wearing a hole through your expensive radiator.