Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Ideas for C4 tranny upgrade options
Ok, I have to rebuild my C4 auto on my '77. No big deal even though I have no transmission experience except for removal and installation. I am always eager to learn how to do something just as long as there is not too much trial and error and I don't waste a lot of $$$.

Anyway, before I order all the parts to do the overhaul I wanted to know what the consensus is out there on available C4 upgrades for our applications (valve bodies, clutches, etc.)

I am running a '77 with stock Xfer case, 4.11 in rear on my 9" and 4.10 in front on my D44 all on 35" tires with a 302HO EFI.

-Mike
'77 351w- Explorer EFI, 4R70W, 4-link, lockers, 4.56, 35" MT/Rs with a severe rock addiction.Confusedmokin:
Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads.

[Image: sig2.jpg]
This is what my next move will be if my c-4 blows up.Summit racing sell's some aftermarket transmission stuff for the c-4. Different planatary gears for a lower first gear. Different servos for more holding power. Hardened input shaft for less breakage. Kevlar clutches for more heat tolerant applications. They also sell a video to show you how to do it. 50$. I know a little cause I tried it once but that was about 10 years ago. I feel I could do it now. The c-4 is a great transmission. Art-Carr builds these to hold 1000 horsepower.So enough said. Make sure you use petroleum jelly to hold parts together while assembling. NO silicone on pan gasket. Just watch how it comes apart and you will be fine. Keep everything clean with compressed air while assembling. Go for it!
77 Bronco, 5.0 Trick flow heads, roller motor, L&L headers, Protofab family cage, Protofab rear bumper w/ Tire and cooler carrier,Beard seats, Rhinoed tub,33" swampers, PSC ported steering box with soon hydraulic assist.
Chuzie,